• Do you love Genealogy? Why not write for us? we're looking for volunteers to write articles for Family history. Please contact us for further information.

Cooper

Hi,

My 2xGt Grandfather William Cox was a cooper by trade (maker of barrels). On the 1851 census I have found him as a qualified cooper and I am trying,without any luck so far,to find him on the 1841 census.He would be aged about fifteen and presumably an apprentice.

I have found a likely entry,but this William was an apprentice wheelwright.Now,someone has suggested that the two occupations may have overlapped.

I would be grateful if anyone could give me their thoughts on these two trades.

Many thanks,

Marisan.

prefabkid

Hi,

My 2xGt Grandfather William Cox was a cooper by trade (maker of barrels). On the 1851 census I have found him as a qualified cooper and I am trying,without any luck so far,to find him on the 1841 census.He would be aged about fifteen and presumably an apprentice.

I have found a likely entry,but this William was an apprentice wheelwright.Now,someone has suggested that the two occupations may have overlapped.

I would be grateful if anyone could give me their thoughts on these two trades.

Many thanks,

Marisan.
The two trades may easily overlap since the technique of fitting a metal rim to a wooden wheel is very similar to that of fitting hops on a wooden barrel.
The metal rim for the wheel and the hoops for the staves for the barrel are heated in a fire to expand them and hammered over the barrel or wheel,then quickly drenched with water to cool the metal down.
The metal shrinks to form a tight fit on the wheel,or to force the barrel staves together to make the barrel watertight.
Hope this helps
prefabkid

Thank you very much for that,prefabkid.I feel I could well be onto something here,at long last.I have traced my ancestor from 1851 until his death in 1871 and he is described as a cooper all along,it is his early years I am having trouble with.

Thanks again,

Marisan.