• Do you love Genealogy? Why not write for us? we're looking for volunteers to write articles for Family history. Please contact us for further information.

Father not named on birth certificate

Hi there,

I'm new to all this so sorry if it's a stupid question .....

I'm researching the Allcocks in South Staffordshire. John Allcock's birth certificate of 1869 does not include a father's name, only his mother's (Sarah Allcock formerly Ball). John Allcock's marriage certificate gives his father as William Allcock (deceased) - Police Constable.

William Allcock's marriage to Sarah Ball (in 1863) lists him as a Police Officer so I'm fairly sure I have the right people here.

William and Sarah's first(?) child, Alice, was born in 1867 and her birth certificate does show William Allcock (now a 'Husbandman') as the father.

Is John Allcock illegitmate or would the father's name have been omitted if he was deceased? Could there be another reason for him not being named on the birth certificate?

Thanks in advance for any help you can offer.

Regards,
Biggless99

duckweed

Loyal Member
Usually if father's name is not mentioned the child is illegitimate. Father's who died before the child was born are usually there but marked deceased.

Ellie

Loyal Member
Hi Biggles99, Duckweed is quite right. I have an illegitimate ancestor and on his birth cert there is just a line meaning father unknown.Have you tried looking for a baptismal record to see if there is a father's name on that?

duckweed

Loyal Member
Are you sure you have right birth certificate? There are quite a lot of John Allcocks about same age. When and where did he marry? Have you got him on any census records? I can't find any family members when I was searching for family through census records in 1871

Thanks for the help on this.

I'm fairly sure I have the right certificates.