• Do you love Genealogy? Why not write for us? we're looking for volunteers to write articles for Family history. Please contact us for further information.

Hello

Edward

Valued Member
Hi,

I am new to Family History I have only been working on our family History a few months, However I had a good start as I had a copy of a tree which was put together by my Grand Father I don't have the documents from which it was assembled and it was copied by hand and contains some errors.

My Father's family come from London my Mothers from Southampton.

Curently I have come to a standstill on the family history.

My latest search is for:

Thomas Bilbe shown as Farther to my ancestor, Frances Sarah Bilbe my Great Great Grandmother she was born about 1831 in Rotherhithe, Surrey.

In 1852 she married Robert William Robinson and they had six children that I know of.
Thomas Bilbe Robinson
Frances Ester Bilbe Robinson
Eliza Ann Bilbe Robinson
Jane Westbrook Bilbe Robinson
Edith Mary Ann Robinson
William John Robinson

In the 1881 Census they are shown as living at Nelson Dock Rotherhithe and his occupation was shown as Superintendent at Nelson Dock Yd.

I think that Nelson Dock belonged to Thomas Bilbe shipbuilders who were building tea clippers.

Many Thanks

Ed

juliejtp

Loyal Member
Staff member
Hi Ed welcome to the forum. 1861 census as follows.

Civil parish Rotherhithe address Lower ------ Street

Robert Wm Robinson head age 31 occ foreman shipwright born Deptford Kent
Frances Robinson wife age 30 born Rotherhithe Surrey
Thos B son age 7 born " "
F E B Robinson dau age 4 born " "
E A B Robinson dau age 1 born " "
J W B Robinson dau age 6 months born " "
Mary A Robinson mother age 73 born Blackheath Kent
Emma A Robinson neice age 13 occ domestic servant born Greenwich Kent

Julie

Last edited:

juliejtp

Loyal Member
Staff member
1871 census.

civil parish Rotherhithe address Lower ----- Nelson Dock ------