• All members must be aware of our current Family History UK Community Rules

Please read the following:

Read the current rules of the forum

Thank you

If you are a business -please contact us to advertise or be a sponsor on our FHUK Community Genealogy forums

Introduction from Downunder

G'day there,

I have just joined having found out about the site:)

I have been researching the family history for about two years now. It started with a cousin who would chat to me about the family origins until I was so confused as my mind was filled with names which I was trying to link and place into some sort of time frame!

The ancestors ( Teasdale) originate in Yorkshire ( Tickhill) , and London on both sides of the family. Some emigrated to Australia in 1836 and 1838 and other's to the Gold fields of Victoria fron London in 1852 ( Hollis and Judge);, Niblock from County Cavan Ireland to South Australia, Jacques or Jaques from either Yorkshire or London to South Australia, Pownceby from London to Victoria; Brackett and Cooper from London and Darrington King from Huntingdonshire;

Since finding a distant relative and communicating frequently via another avenue with Duckweed upon whom I stumbled quite by accident; I have found Jarvis, Stringer and Kemp ( and more recently Bullivant) are also linked to the Teasdales ( we have the name Kemp in our Teasdale family records ).

My history is in education- as a lecturer ( curriculum mathematics), teacher in three states -ACT, SA and NSW -and school principal for almost thirty years but now a professional leadlighter and glass artisan trying to make a living outside of education arena having chosen to take a rest. I currently reside with my hubby in the heart of the rural wheat sheep belt in NSW and while my hubby cannpt understand my obsession with the past, I find it absorbing and can spend hours chasing info and analysing data.