• Do you love Genealogy? Why not write for us? we're looking for volunteers to write articles for Family history. Please contact us for further information.

New member from Yate, South Glos.

Hello everyone and a Happy New Year to you all.
I joined some months ago, but thought it was about time I stopped lurking and posted something.
I've been researching my family history for some six years now and have met many 'new' relatives and made several friends through on-line forums and message boards.
I was born in Bristol, where my mother's family come from and my father was born in Devizes, Wiltshire, and am probably somewhat unusual these days in that I have never moved further than 15 miles from my birthplace. I've amassed a database of over 2000 linked individuals, but have so far only managed to trace one of my four grandparent lines as far back 1650. I get sidetracked by my equal interest in the local history of where my family lived!
I'm active in my local history and family history associations and try to help others where I can.
My primary interests are in:
Hampton (Devizes post 1800)
Watts (Potterne 1650-1850, Devizes post 1850)
Vincent (Bristol post 1800)
Jenkins (Bristol post 1800)
I look forward to reading the lists.

admin

Loyal Member
Staff member
Administrator
Website
www.familyhistory.uk.com
Hello everyone and a Happy New Year to you all.
welcome Welcome to the FHUK family history forum wattshamp40

I joined some months ago, but thought it was about time I stopped lurking and posted something.
I've been researching my family history for some six years now and have met many 'new' relatives and made several friends through on-line forums and message boards.
That's great - what made you stop lurking and join in?:)

I was born in Bristol, where my mother's family come from and my father was born in Devizes, Wiltshire, and am probably somewhat unusual these days in that I have never moved further than 15 miles from my birthplace.