• Do you love Genealogy? Why not write for us? we're looking for volunteers to write articles for Family history. Please contact us for further information.

new to all this

R

rainey

I am very new to family trees, and am trying to get info on how to find things,
the names I\'m looking for are
Rainey
Gaynor
Burley
Wilkes
I think all from Liverpool
thanks for any help you can give on where to start
being in Australia is a bit hard finding out any info
thanks

KeithS

Hi Rainey.

Welcome to the forum, it\'s good to have you with us.

I found it interesting that you are researching the name Gaynor. For a number of years, my next door neighbour was Gordon Gaynor. You never know, there might be a link there.

So, you have only just started into Family History Research. Well, it won\'t take long before you are well and truly hooked. It\'s addictive.

As well as being moderator here, I have my own Family History Research Support Forum and, on there, I have simple guidelines for people in your position. I am a great believer in keeping records manually, not on computer. I also believe that, to learn how to do it properly, you must learn the mechanics of the craft. This is best done using manual records. Obviously, you can keep computer records as well but, I feel that some of the finer points are learned only when you use pen and paper. My guidelines include a simple manual record keeping system. If you want, I could send them to you.

Another factor of course is that I live on Merseyside. The other side of the river to Liverpool. So, there might be the odd occasion when I could offer you some help or advice. Just ask and I will see what I can do for you.

Best wishes,
Keith. :)

p.s. Another interesting element I have only just noticed. Many years ago, I worked with a Bill Wilkes. He was the accounts department manager for the company I worked for.

Post edited by: KeithS, at: 2005/02/24 12:01

R

rainey

Thanks Keith