• Do you love Genealogy? Why not write for us? we're looking for volunteers to write articles for Family history. Please contact us for further information.

New to this and stuck already

Hi there,
I am very new to all this, i would like to trace my family tree and decided to start with my fathers side of the family first as i dont know of any of them past my grandmother, My grandfather Thomas Murphy died in Wallasey in Merseyside in around 1964 I was never told exact date or how old he was other than my dad was only 10 yrs old at the time, all i know is that they lived in gorse crescent in wallasey at the time, i know that my grandad served in the royal navy as chief petit officer for a time before transferring to the merchant navy. I know nothing of his family as my gran lost touch with them after his death. My gran Joyce Murphy nee Green was born in birkenhead on 28/9/1928 and died 1/12/1993. I know nothing of her parents either. i only know that she had 2 sisters called edna and alma, a half sister called linda and 2 half brothers called david and graham. I cant get any information from my father as we dont speak. How do i go about finding the information i need ?

Hi Cazzie: Hurdon here did you try to type in the places where your relatives passed away? I found that helps. Census records are sometimes enlightening. try for a censis using the last name and place of residence of your ancestors let me know if I can help Hurdon

Cazzie: Do you have a death certificate or birth certificate? if so that can lead to some information on the other family members. Did they place an obituary in the paper? Sometimes even if they can't tell you it speaks volumes. Good Luck also check out marriages aproximately during that time your relative lived there. All for now Hurdon

hi hurdon, thanks for your advice :)