• Do you love Genealogy? Why not write for us? we're looking for volunteers to write articles for Family history. Please contact us for further information.

New Year's Beginner

Good morning and happy new year :)

I am brand new to family history research but, for a new years resolution, I am finally making a concerted effort to trace my ancestory.
I live in Australia but all my family come from the UK.

I acquired 'Family Tree Maker (V11) software and have entered all the known details of of my immediate family, parents and grandparents.
I orginally believed (don't laugh) that I would then be able to simply import relevant genealogy information into my family tree to fill in the blanks, then print up and publish a comprehensive record of my family history :redface:

Clearly this is not the case and after discovering and perusing your valuable site, it seems that significantly more basic research is required. I have read your helpful response to Ann Mason who posted a similar request earlier in December however I would appreciate if you could answer a few other questions I have:

Is my software (Family Tree Maker) suitable for the research I want to do?

Are there any useful genealogical sites that I could access/suscribe to (most of the sites seem to be based on US genealogy sources and I am not sure how useful these would be for me)?

How useful are on-line genealogy resouces generally?

Can I access data from sources such as Census Data and Parish Registers etc on line?

I would also appreciate any other suggestions/tips you have for a rank beginner.

Sorry about all the questions - thank you in anticipation :-*

pee wee

Hi,

I'm glad you have asked your questions.I will be very interested to read the responses you get. I too am new to genealogy. I also live in Australia but was originally from England & seem to be finding all the same things as you.