• All members must be aware of our current Family History UK Community Rules

    Please read the following:

    Read the current rules of the forum

    Thank you

    If you are a business -please contact us to advertise or be a sponsor on our FHUK Community Genealogy forums

The extent of modern day London.


Loyal Member
Staff member

Over the centuries London has grown from a small settlement on the Thames a few thousands years ago to a sprawling megalopolis of 8 million people.

But the London postal districts only cover the inner London areas such as Islington, Dulwich, West Ham and Chelsea. Places like Uxbridge, Dagenham, Enfield and Bromley dont have London postcodes but they still come under London boroughs. Dagenham is in the London Borough of Redbridge and Uxbridge is the London borough of Hillingdon. It may still have an Essex post code but that is all. The current county of Greater London with its 32 boroughs was formed in 1965 so if you were born in Dagenham in say 1970 then you are technically a Londoner. The suburbs of London stretch much further than the huge chunk which comes under postal districts but that is all they are, postal districts, and the outer London boroughs such as Havering and Hillingdon may not have London postcodes but are London boroughs so they still come under London.


Similar threads