• Important Update: Our New Email Domain

Please note: We've updated our email domain to familyhistory.email. All our emails will be from this domain.

• Do you love Genealogy? Why not write for us? we're looking for volunteers to write articles for Family history. Please contact us for further information.

Tracing my great great grandfather Henry Banfield

From
United States
Hi - I'm new to this. I've got a great great grandfather or maybe great great great. His name was Henry Banfield and was likely born in 1823 or maybe 1822. I also know that when he arrived in New York on April 7, 1851 he was 28 years old and his stated occupation was bricklayer. He sailed on the 1,150-ton three-masted packet-ship Devonshire of the Swallowtail Line out of London.

I've browsed around a bit and have seen some census records posted. There are some Henry Banfields born at that time. Every other relative in our family over in the states is a George, Ann, or Alfred it seems, but this doesn't seem to narrow it down as these seem to be super popular names in England during this period.

I'm living in London now and recently learned about my relative. It's really interesting to think he may have walked around on the same streets and maybe even had a pint in one of the older pubs. It seems most likely that he came from somewhere outside of London. It would be great if I could figure this bit out as we don't know anything about this line of our family history outside of the U.S.

Given this information - can anyone recommend a good starting place for me to try to learn more? I see that I can pay money to access records on some websites, but I'm not sure I will find out much from these? Thanks!

Peter