• Important Update: Our New Email Domain

Please note: We've updated our email domain to familyhistory.email. All our emails will be from this domain.

• Do you love Genealogy? Why not write for us? we're looking for volunteers to write articles for Family history. Please contact us for further information.

Where to find Divorce Records from 1890s

From
United States
Hello. I am new to genealogy research and am trying to find find the divorce records of a Dan Halstead and Emma Louisa (Wright) Halstead. I believe the divorce took place sometime between 1891-1897 in Yorkshire. I have been to the National Archives webpage and searched to see if the records were held at the National Archives at Kew but came up with nothing. Does the National Archives contain all of these reocrds or is there another place I can search? Thank you.

Welcome Suzanne
I'm sure the folk here will be able to advise you.
Divorce was expensive and quite scandalous back then, so could be listed in local newspapers?
For the peeps they were together in 1891 census, Daniel bn Huddersfield cotton weaver, Emma born Burnley.
Living in Habergham Eaves Lancs.

Oznannie

Last edited:
Confused! Did I find the right people in 1891??
According to Free BMD they only married in Sep qtr 1891 Dewsbury Yorks

Emma Louisa Wright to Dan Halstead 9b 1182.

Oznannie